Can someone describe the structure of a CPE?

I am looking at implementing CPEs for SBOMs, but I’m very new to CPEs. I’m struggling to find any detail on how a CPE string is structured.

For example;

cpe:2.3:a:google:earth:-:*:*:*:*:*:*:*

What does each part of the CPE string represent?

The answer you’re looking for is in the spec document:

But that will take you a few hours to digest, so the tl;dr version…

Here is the CPE 2.3 URI schema (2.3 is the latest version, and I’ve never seen older versions being used);

cpe:2.3:<part>:<vendor>:<product>:
<version>:<update>:<edition>:<language>:<sw_edition>:<target_sw:>:<target_hw>:<other>

Where:

• cpe: always cpe
  • 2.3: the cpe version (currently latest is 2.3). Note, you should check this is always 2.3 when parsing, as older versions do not have the same structure.
  • <part>: The part attribute SHALL have one of these three string values:
    • a for applications,
    • o for operating systems,
    • h for hardware devices
  • <vendor>: described or identifies the person or organisation that manufactured or created the product
  • <product>: describes or identifies the most common and recognisable title or name of the product
  • <version>: vendor-specific alphanumeric strings characterising the particular release version of the product
  • <update>: vendor-specific alphanumeric strings characterising the particular update, service pack, or point release of the product.
  • <edition> assigned the logical value ANY (*) except where required for backward compatibility with version 2.2 of the CPE specification
  • <language>: valid language tags as defined by [RFC5646]
  • <sw_edition>: characterises how the product is tailored to a particular market or class
    of end users.
  • <target_sw>: characterises the software computing environment within which the product operates.
  • <target_hw>: characterises the instruction set architecture (e.g., x86) on which the product being described or identified operates